How to "Uncork" the 2016 WR450F?

9 replies to this topic
  • 2016 WR-450 F

Posted March 03, 2016 - 09:52 PM

Yes, I am a newbie but I have read the previous posts on this topic.  I was uneducated on this subject before laying down big bucks on this new bike, didn't test drive it, just read the reviews and thought "this is the bike for me"  After 30 years of not riding I expected this thing to be a rocket but when I first hit the gas i thought, "that's it"?  heck, my Husky 250 from 1977 had more power than this, I was bummed.  Later that day I went over the handlebars and broke 3 ribs...still hurts.

Anyway, have done a lot of reading during my convalescence and learned about the issues holding this thing back. I decided to buy the GYTR competition kit and replace the ECU and throttle stop screw.  Problem is the part number is for 2015 and newer, nothing for the 2016.

Imagine how many ribs I can break with the increased power.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Steve

• stevethe

Posted March 04, 2016 - 05:27 AM

Yes, I am a newbie but I have read the previous posts on this topic. I was uneducated on this subject before laying down big bucks on this new bike, didn't test drive it, just read the reviews and thought "this is the bike for me" After 30 years of not riding I expected this thing to be a rocket but when I first hit the gas i thought, "that's it"? heck, my Husky 250 from 1977 had more power than this, I was bummed. Later that day I went over the handlebars and broke 3 ribs...still hurts.

Anyway, have done a lot of reading during my convalescence and learned about the issues holding this thing back. I decided to buy the GYTR competition kit and replace the ECU and throttle stop screw. Problem is the part number is for 2015 and newer, nothing for the 2016.

Imagine how many ribs I can break with the increased power.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Steve

Yeah giving a bike one third throttle doesn't quite show how much power she has.