Piston size : new to four stroke

3 replies to this topic
  • ayamaha101

Posted February 18, 2016 - 04:43 AM

hello

i am new to four stroke, and would like to change my piston and rings on my yz 450  2012.

in 2 stroke, for yamaha they used A,  B,C,D piston sizes

what happens for four stroke? do you keep putting the same piston size over and over?For oem pistons i have seen  only one size for my bike.

if you do not know the piston size that was in, what do you recommend doing?

Thank you for answering

• stevethe

Posted February 18, 2016 - 07:05 AM

hello

i am new to four stroke, and would like to change my piston and rings on my yz 450  2012.

in 2 stroke, for yamaha they used A,  B,C,D piston sizes

what happens for four stroke? do you keep putting the same piston size over and over?For oem pistons i have seen  only one size for my bike.

if you do not know the piston size that was in, what do you recommend doing?

Thank you for answering

No ABDor C pistons. Just the stock bore size. You should take it to a competent machinist or other to see if your bore is in spec. When or if it gets out of spec. you can buy a new cylinder or have yours re-plated. Check in your shop manual for the bore specs.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • c0ncEpT

Posted February 18, 2016 - 09:26 AM

Measure the bore with a bore gauge and order the piston accordingly. 

• grayracer513

Posted February 18, 2016 - 11:44 AM

Measure the bore with a bore gauge and order the piston accordingly.