Best bike for michigan trails?

I myself am a fan of quick and flickable,,(kx100),,fww,high bars,,suspension upgrades,,barkbusters,,skid plate..I ride a lot and see a lot of fellas riding 450f and can't help but think that they have way too much bike for michigan trails since this is relatively a flat state(not a lot of hill climbing)..I'm only 5'5" and been think in of a bigger bike but I seem to catch a lot of guys on bigger bikes in the trails,so what should I do?

I REALLY want to make the switch to a 300 2 stroke, which would be my idea of the perfect bike, but it is not something I can afford, until Wednesday's Powerball that is.  

I have some experience with the 450 class vs a 250 2 stroke, although it is limited to occasionally swapping bikes with my buddy.  My WR426 is definitely a lot of bike when things get narrow or slow, as its a heavy old beast and isn't the most agile.  Suspension work made a huge difference but it is still a tank.  If I had the money, I probably would have gotten a new bike long ago, if the Yamaha was either too much for me to handle or it was prone to breakdowns.  The WR426 is damn near indestructible and having ridden it for the last 15 years (and 15,000ish miles), I have somewhat learned how to minimize the bulk and its agility limitations, despite being 5'9" on a good day, weighing about 185lbs before gear.  I guess I'm pretty strong for my size by the way I'm told I throw the 426 around.  Most people are surprised I ride the big bike considering my stature (or lack thereof).