New to me 04 YZ450f

28 replies to this topic
  • jeffvian

Posted January 03, 2016 - 06:16 PM

Hey guys i just picked up a 04 yz450f yesterday. It was 1100 bucks and is in very good shape but needed a head gasket. The previous owner said it was extremly well maintaind and ran fantastic. I replaced the headgasket and the cylinder wall looked perfect inside. Im a diesel guy so im not very good with these little gas engines. i used the wrong timing mark on the flywheel the first time but have it fixed now. i cleaned the carb out and changed the oil and air filter. i couldnt kick start it at all so we pull started it and it would harly turn the wheel cause it has so much compression but it fired and it took a lot of throttle to keep it running. It had a lot of power but im used to utility atvs so not a real fair comparison. it would die instantly if i tried to idle so im not really sure what could be the problem.

• grayracer513

Posted January 03, 2016 - 09:45 PM

If it is timed correctly, an '04 YZ450F should be about as hard to turn over on a bump start as a 200cc two-stroke.  IMO, that's a clue that you need to check your cam timing again.  

As for being hard to keep running, that could also be a symptom of timing, but it's more likely that it has to do with a partial blockage in the pilot jet or aprt of that circuit.

Another thing that people unfamiliar with the bike will do sometimes is install the floating vacuum plate on the slide upside down.  Even though it looks as if it should go the other way, the "square" end with the hole near the edge goes down. 

• jeffvian

Posted January 04, 2016 - 08:55 AM