- - - - -

Auto decomp 400 starting procedure?

• Please sign in to reply

6 replies to this topic
  • Baudoux

TT Newbie

1 posts

Posted December 23, 2015 - 08:28 PM

I am a relative noob to the YZ400F. I have a '99 that i just swapped to a 450 exhaust cam, properly timed and shimmed, and a 2005 450 carburetor swap.  The carb swap made it a whole new bike,

I am almost sorry that I performed the cam swap. Before the swap, a cold start consisted of 4 kicks choke on, decomp lever pulled, a couple twists of the throttle, then one kick just after TDC. I have the easily adjustable fuel screw, and I have spent some time dialing it in for good idle and rideability. 

After the swap, I am kicking quite a few times with the choke knob out, walking away frustrated, and kicking some more, twisting the throttle a few times, getting some pops out of the muffler, then it finally starts and idles for 20-30 seconds before I shove the choke in. 

My last big Yammy was a YZ490. I really dig this water pumping 4 stroke, I just wish it would start as easily as before the cam swap. 1999 YZ400F.jpg

What starting procedure works best for you other decomp swapped 400 people?

• grayracer513
42,900 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted December 24, 2015 - 07:47 AM

"Normal" procedure is to crank the throttle from 2-4 times, then kick with the choke on, no throttle or maybe very slightly above idle.  If it's really cold, you may need to repeat this a couple of times.  

One thing many folks miss if they aren't familiar with auto decompression is that there is still a kind of "drill" to follow.  It's much simpler, though.  Push the starter down until you hit compression ("the hard spot") and stop.  Reposition the starter at the top and kick through from there instead of some random position, and don't outsmart yourself by trying to push past TDC to start.  Put it up against compression and go right from there.