Case saver failed. Clutch lever cocky smashed

5 replies to this topic
  • 288yz450

Posted October 20, 2015 - 10:47 AM

Hey guys I have a 2009 yz450. As I was practicing on my buddies private track I snapped a master link under full throttle. Case saver kind of worked but bent up and smashed into the clutch lever cock. Oil leaks now and I don't what I should do to fix it other than replace the case. I would prefer not to replace the case as I'm a cheap college student trying to make my bike last as long as I can.

Attached Thumbnails

• 1445366781638.jpg
  • 1445366826682.jpg

• Goonyz400f

Posted October 20, 2015 - 11:47 AM

Weld it?

• grayracer513

Posted October 20, 2015 - 11:49 AM

The case saver didn't fail, unless you bought one from the aftermarket that purported to be capable of such a thing.  It's a chain guide, not a case saver, and its job is to keep the top run of chain fed onto the top of the front sprocket when you're off the throttle.  

The chain will have broken for one of two reasons; either the master link was improperly installed, or the chain was too tight.  Review this post: 

As to the case, the only right way to repair that is to replace the complete pair of crankcases as a set.  The shaft bores are finished with the cases bolted together as a matched set.  You can mix them, but it's not advisable.  

Depending on the severity of the damage, which frankly doesn't look too bad, repairs might be possible also, but realize that in addition to the machined bore for the clutch release arm, a high pressure oil passage to the transmission passes through that bore.  Any welding will require re-machining the case to re-establish these features, so either way, it's gonna cost you. 

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • 288yz450

Posted October 20, 2015 - 01:53 PM