Ridden other bikes lately ?

22 replies to this topic
  • MidlifeCrisisGuy

Posted September 01, 2015 - 11:27 AM

I've been riding my 2012 WR450F for 2 years now.  I really like it.  It feels normal to me.  Sometimes when I ride on a fireroad it feels a little flat or under powered.

On the weekend we came across 2 riders, one on a stock 2013 WR250F, the other on a hopped up 2013 WR250F (FMF pipe, etc).  We started talking.  Talk turns to to bikes.  Bike swaps ensue. 

I ride the stock WR250F.  What the...  ???  The thing feels like a mini bike.  Cracking the throttle yields more noise and absolutely no acceleration.   How do people ride these things ?

I ride the hopped up WR250F.  It's not much better !  I can't believe it.  These bikes are tiny.  And they have no power.

So the one WR rider hops on my bike.  He is self proclaimed 5' 8".  He can't straddle it.   I explain I removed the eStart.   He can't start it.  He can't even really kick it.    I get it going for him.  He can't believe how much power it has and how big it is.  The power has him floored.

I hopped on a Husaberg 390 a few rides ago.  Man did it feel flat.  Not much brap.  Really soft.

I hopped on a 300XC.  I kind of get why people ride them.  You can feel the lightness.  Not sure if I like that or if I like riding the gyro that my WR is.  Throttle response is, well... different.  At least it accelerates.  No way it will pick up the front wheel on command like my WR will though.  I guess that is why they have a clutch.

I think my WR has me totally spoiled for power and fun.  I now get why people think the Yamaha 450Fs are beasts.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted September 01, 2015 - 11:48 AM

Yes, WR250's have less than half the power of your 450

You should ride my CRF450X or my WR450F, both with AS Racing motors. 

Makes a stock WR450 feel like the 250............

• Andrew Puetz

Posted September 01, 2015 - 04:06 PM