Changing tires

14 replies to this topic
  • XrFreakXr

Posted February 24, 2004 - 01:11 PM

I know this is a very newb question but im a newb. :) Is it difficult to put new tires on my xr? I'd like to be able to do it myself. :D

• irondude

Posted February 24, 2004 - 01:46 PM

easy. do the front one first to gain confidence.

• needsprayer

Posted February 24, 2004 - 01:56 PM

Don't let irondude fool ya. The first time is not easy and the back tire is even more of a challenge. You need long tire levers, good techniques and practice before it gets easy.

Do a search on the web and you will find good illustrations.

Easy is when you let irondude change your tires for ya. :)

• XrFreakXr

Posted February 24, 2004 - 03:39 PM

I'm debating whether i should pay the $15 labor charge for each tire, or get practice and do it myself...

• Roll_it_on

Posted February 24, 2004 - 04:32 PM

I would recommend getting the tools and doing it yourself and get the hang of it. You never when you will need to fix a flat etc.. and there won't be any shop available to change it out for you. It may make the difference between going on a great ride and sitting one out. :)

• irondude

Posted February 24, 2004 - 07:58 PM

Needsprayer is of course right---its not so easy. But think of it as a monster bicycle tire, and give it a try.

Buy the MSR tire irons, plus the two piece lever that has one end that looks like a giant scallop. Add a new tube-get the Bridgestone heavy duty.

Unbolt the 10mm pinch bolts, and then unscrew the 17mm front axle. DO this with the bike on a stand.

SLide the front tire out.

Let all the air out by pushing in the valve.

Put a piece of thick cardboard or wood-like 1/2 inch plywood - on the floor.

Take out the spacers from the center of the wheel where the axle came out.