'06 WR450F Front Brake Very Weak

4 replies to this topic
  • carlt828

Posted August 09, 2015 - 04:52 PM

I picked up my '06 WR450F back in '10. The front brake has always been very soft (not very good stopping power). The lever is very mushy and not firm at all. I've replaced the brake line with a braided one, new pads, and obviously bled the fluid as well as I could. I've also tried taking the master cylinder off the bar and holding it up high trying to make sure I didn't have any air in the lines. Even tried a reverse bleed. When I picked up a '03 CR250R in 2011, it has power brakes compared to the WR. Even with a blown fork seal and saturated pads, the CR's brakes are much better.

Any suggestions? I have a master cylinder off a '98 CR250R that I am thinking about trying. I also have the brake caliper but I haven't really looked at it that close because I didn't think it would bolt up.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted August 09, 2015 - 07:39 PM

The stock brakes are fantastic, don't change components.

First, you have to expand the pads all the way out (bottom out the pistons) and keep them there while you bleed the brakes

You remove the mc cover, compress the pistons using a C-clamp, and hold them there, or wedge something to hold them there.

This will push out the air trapped behind the pistons.

Next, you must remove the bleeder valves and cover the threads in plumbers tape. You need enough to make the bleeder require a wrench to turn it. 

This will prevent air from sucking in past the bleeder threads, as you bleed the system.

Now you can bleed with vacuum or syringe, your preference. I like vacuum as it's less messy.

It will take 1/2 a can of FRESH fluid to get all the air out.

Do not use an open can of brake fluid (more than a few days) as the fluid wicks moisture out of the air very fast, and you don't want that in the brake lines........