How often should I grease swingarm/rear suspension bearings?

10 replies to this topic
  • viking50

Posted February 23, 2004 - 02:47 PM

I am new to the sport, I ride weekends in the spring, summer and fall, mostly woods, how often should I grease the rear suspension? A neighbor who rides often told me once or twice a season depending on how much I ride. Does this seem excessive if greased properly?

• 1rkcooper

Posted February 23, 2004 - 03:28 PM

I grease mine at least every spring but doing in the spring and fall is even better. With a small amout of mechanical ability you can drill and tap grease fittings for almost all bearings and will not have to dismantle it to grease. It is still a good idea to check the bearings once in a while though.

• BEAN329

Posted February 23, 2004 - 07:45 PM

Ditto for me, has anyone drilled the linkage bolts and put grease fittings in those yet?

• Treebark

Posted February 25, 2004 - 08:23 AM

I ussually check mine every 3 or 4 months depending where I ride and the type of weather it is. I've had bearings get froze up from lack of lubrication and cost me a good deal of money. I'm kind of against drilling holes in suspension parts, afraid they'd get weak and break with the amount of strain put on them. Pulling the bike apart isn't that hard and only takes a couple of minutes.

• yathump

Posted February 25, 2004 - 08:47 AM

I am currently greasing my swingarm and linkage on my bike, i was considering letting it go until fall because of very few rides last year. Once i got inside i was happy i did it, discovered moisture in a couple areas. :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • big t

Posted February 26, 2004 - 12:05 AM

Do it at least once a year. :)

• yamaha.dude

Posted February 26, 2004 - 07:45 PM

Don't leave it 3 or 4 years like some menbers of this board... :D :)