First Bike in Decades

4 replies to this topic
  • Paladin2

Posted July 14, 2015 - 01:44 PM

Hello, noob here. Went through alot of pages, can't seem to find the right search tools (Yamalink search turned up 913 hits!), and don't really know squat about motorcycles, etc. 
So with my apologies up front, I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
Just acquired my first bike in decades (last bike I had was when I was 14yrs old) Picked up a '04 WRF450FR and have begun the learning curve. 
Found the vid/thread about setting it up as an adventure bike and while I don't plan any extended adventures, (that's what the Land Cruiser is for :thumbsup: ), the set up described would suit my intended use perfectly. Not looking to race/jump/out run people on gnarly single track. But want it capable of handling exploring areas that are little more than animal trails. Hoping to discover some amazing places the large expedition vehicle can't get to!
While I lack actual riding experience, my reading comprehension and critical thinking skills are well developed. I know what the bike is and I chose it because I determined it would be easier to "de-tune" it rather than try to "upgrade" a more road oriented bike. Weight was a major concern not only for the handling aspect, but it will hauled on the back of a expedition vehicle/expedition trailer many times. I also want to be able to do some shorter adventure rides where I will be packing in shelter/food/water/gear, etc. and adding that to my 200lbs means I need something with some power. 
So at the risk of being rude, I'm not looking for "get another bike" kind of recommendations. Everything seems to need some modification, so I made a choice and am moving forward with it.
1.) I like to get some feedback on a Yamalink vs having suspension work done by a shop. Feedback from people who actually have done either the link/or lowering work.