my new (to m) 2002 YZ426F

13 replies to this topic
  • Holgrinator

Posted June 25, 2015 - 09:39 AM

Hey all, my name is Jason and I just picked up a YZ426f.  It's my first bike in about 10 years.  My last bike was an 86 yz250 and I've been riding a Raptor 660 and then a 700 for the last 3 years.  I joined for those times I'll need some good info on how to work on or fix items on the bike.

Attached Thumbnails

• my bike 1.png
  • my bike.png
  • bike and raptor.png

• Yz400Flyer

Posted June 27, 2015 - 06:18 AM

Looks clean and not that used either I would say (judging by the rather small amount of paint rubbed off on the frame for that age of bike).

Did you take this picture on the mountain range just east of Salt Lake/Ogden? Isn't that the Wasatch?

• cadesdad

Posted June 28, 2015 - 11:00 AM

Yeah, it looks like it's above Bountiful.

• cadesdad

Posted June 28, 2015 - 11:02 AM

Bike does look nice too! I had a 01 426, loved that bike!

• harmetp

Posted June 30, 2015 - 03:33 AM

I'm in about the same boat, but 20 years ago I did road racing as a hobby (you know those 'ninja bikes') so I'm about lost when it comes to the dynamics of a dirt bike.  So the natural choice is to shop price and buy a bike way too powerful for me - a yz426 (mines an 01).  You are likely a much better rider than me, but that won't stop me from stating the obvious.  (people call me captain obvious because I say obvious things...)

Here is my list so far:

1. if the 2002 doesn't have the autodecompression cam, it needs one.  Makes starts much much much easier especially after you get tired (well I get tired pretty easy).  The hotcam exhaust cam changed the power delivery a little, but I'm not wringing it out much so it's not super noticeable.  In other words it doesn't make a high rpm, narrow power band bike any more than it was.