Water Pump Impeller removal 05 WRF450

6 replies to this topic
  • BAnd05

Posted June 19, 2015 - 05:36 PM

Hey all,

I've read a lot about needeing to rmove the case to get the impeller out, but also that it can be done with a  wrench while holding the kick starter in place. Anybody here actually got that to work? Not sure which direction to turn?

Total Newb when it comes to repairs here!

• rah7777777

Posted June 19, 2015 - 06:25 PM

Just did mine last weekend when I put on the Boyesen pump on. 2006 model

Take a ratchet and turn the blades lefty-loosy. As you turn you'll hear the engine spin and notice when it's on compression (gets harder) I put it just to that point and hit the ratchet with a rubber hammer. After hitting and going back to compression a few times and doing over, it broke loose.

I did the same thing to tighten it. All reality I think my dewalt 20v impact would have worked too (I was being lazy as it was inside and I didn't want to go get it)

• grayracer513

Posted June 23, 2015 - 10:21 AM

Then there was the guy who broke the drive tang off the impeller shaft because he took a short-cut by leaving the crankcase cover on...:excuseme:

He found the extra $30 expense to be somewhat annoying.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BAnd05

Posted June 24, 2015 - 04:56 PM

Thanks for the advice, rah7777777 and grayracer513. I went ahead and ordered a new cover gasket so I will remove the cover after all. I also have an experienced neighbor riding shotgun, so I should be OK after all.

• rah7777777

Posted June 24, 2015 - 05:56 PM

I didn't even know there was a need to take a cover off. I didn't read any instructions, just dove in. Glad I didn't mess anything up.

• grayracer513

Posted June 25, 2015 - 08:53 AM

Water pump replacement:

• rah7777777

Posted July 07, 2015 - 05:41 PM

Very interesting. Learn something new everyday.
What exactly can break?

Join Our Community!