05 jetting please help.

7 replies to this topic
  • cky450mm

Posted June 13, 2015 - 08:19 PM

i just got a 2005 wr450 2 weeks ago. it starts in 1-2 kicks but when i took it out last weeked it was sputtering really bad at 1/2-3/4 throttle. im new to all this so i figured id ask you guys for some advice and hopefully i can get my bike to run like the beast i know it is. these are my specs

Year: 2005
Model: wr 450
Cam Timing: YZ ( if that means cut grey wire)
Main jet: 150
Pilot Jet: 48
Starter Jet: 65
Fuel screw (turns out): 1 1/2 - 2
Needle Model/Clip position: 4th
Grey Wire Mod (Y/N): yes
TPS Connected (Y/N): yes
Airbox Snorkel/Lid (on or off): off
AIS Removed (Y/N): yes
Airfilter Brand: uni
Exhaust Brand: white brothers e2
Average Altitude: 2000-3000
Average Temperature: 70-100

i just moved the clip to the 5th from the top and took it for a ride and it now it runs like it did at 1/2-3/4 no matter what. so im thinking it might need to be back at the 4th or up to the 3rd. please help me out guys!

• Krannie McKranface

Posted June 14, 2015 - 05:24 AM

I would change the plug, inspect the plug wire, and clean all grounds first

You jetting is pretty close.

Your description, if it is jetting, is a rich condition, so you need to DROP the needle, not raise it.

I would also recommend an R&D fuel screw, a 45 pilot, a 165 main, an NCVS needle, and replacing your needle jet (not the jet needle) as they do wear out and cause odd rich conditions.

• cky450mm

Posted June 14, 2015 - 12:56 PM