Aftermarket vs Stock bars, is it worth the cost?

9 replies to this topic
  • J_T

Posted February 19, 2004 - 02:39 PM

Hello all! I have a little curiosity I was hoping ya’ll could shed some light on.

I bent my stock handle bars and need to replace them. I hear about aftermarket bars...fat diameter...certain bends...raised mounts...forward position...etc. I have never had a problem with stock bars but have only ridden on stock bars. Can ya’ll fill me in on why I should or shouldn’t want to spend extra on a good pair of aftermarket bars over a cheap ebay stocker that would require me to bend 4-5 pairs of them before it’d be worth me spending on aftermarket bars.

Also are triple clamps ($$$) needed with aftermarket bars? What is there benefit?

That’s my question, the rest is just extra if you are bored and feel like reading.

I ride in woods/trails. I’m a 25 y/o med student, 160lb, 6’0” in school out of town from where I grew up and have my motorcycle stored (family cabin) so since I have been in school I haven’t had time to ride so its only been twice since Aug 2002!!
:) I transitioned into my xr650r Jan 2001 and really got good but since I have been in school I spend more time reading and wishing I was riding than actual riding. has been a life saver for a “stranded” rider like me. So to finish up, my ride over Christmas break was a fresh relief but I was a little sloppy and at the end I bent the bars. Which leads me to my above question!

Thanks for any help

• qadsan

Posted February 19, 2004 - 03:06 PM

If you're happy with the stock bars, stay with them. I'm sure you can find some great deals on stock bars where people switched them out and there's nothing wrong with that. Some people really like the stock bars.