17.5 hours on 2014 YZ450F, about to check/adjust valves, any tips?

14 replies to this topic
  • GHILL28

Posted March 10, 2015 - 07:38 AM

I'm noticing just a little bit less ease of hot starting on my YZF, so it's time to check the valves and see what they're doing.  Done plenty of valve adjustments on various 4-strokes, so that part isn't a problem.  It's mostly the EFI and fuel tank stuff that I'm not experienced with yet.  This is my first EFI bike.  Running Mobil 4 Racing 4T oil, Scotts SS filter, oil changed 3 times now, clean air filter every ride, lately been running 50/50 AV gas.

I have the IMS tank on mine, which means a total mission of removing the subframe and silencer as well, so I'd prefer to just do this once, and any tips to avoid making a complete mess would be appreciated.

Do I HAVE to disconnect the fuel line to access the valve cover?  

If I disconnect it, how does this system prime after re-connecting?  

Anything else weird to be aware of in terms of access?  

Can the tank be drained from the bottom/fuel pump easily?  

Does the header pipe have to come off to access the chain tensioner?

At this point are there any other good-practice maintenance items to do while I'm in there?  

Anything with the throttle body or fuel pump or injection system?

Thanks in advance.

• grayracer513

Posted March 10, 2015 - 08:21 AM

The fuel system "primes" by cranking the engine (generating current to operate the pump).  Really nothing more to it except it may take a few extra turns of the crank to start it for the first time while it forces the air from the fuel line. 

• GHILL28

Posted March 10, 2015 - 08:42 AM

So it's fine putting air through the injector on the first few cycles?  I guess it won't fire until it primes completely of air and gets adequate fuel running into the intake.

• grayracer513

Posted March 10, 2015 - 08:52 AM