yz450 big bore over heating

25 replies to this topic
  • CRFsandspitter

Posted March 01, 2015 - 09:44 PM

I have a 2006 yz450 with the Athena big bore kit in it. Just got it. It's a little hard to start and dosent idle. When you are on the throttle it's fine when you let off it pops and snaps. Also the header will glow orange. I know this is because it's to lean. What are your guys suggestions.

• LoonRider

Posted March 01, 2015 - 10:08 PM

Well if you know it's too lean beef up the jets a little...

• x_JT_x

Posted March 01, 2015 - 10:13 PM

It's lean, you know it's lean, fix it. Why would you need suggestions?

• WilfulLemar20

Posted March 02, 2015 - 12:18 AM

I have the same problem with my 04 yz450f not sure what's done to it only know it still has stock cams mine ideals now but when it revs it will bang and pop and shoot flames and sparks and seems to heat up rather quick I am new to this engine design all help is apriciated thanks

• NitrousR1

Posted March 02, 2015 - 03:36 AM

The Lean Jetting is not helping the overheating. I have a 06 with the Athena kit and hotcams. The coolant jackets are 30 percent bigger on the athena cylinder.
I put a boysen water pump impeller and cover on mine and it will idle for 5 minutes on a 100 degree day without overheating. Definitely worth the money

• WilfulLemar20

Posted March 02, 2015 - 03:37 AM

Good to hear my bike had a boysen water pump already installed

• Slow and Jerky

Posted March 02, 2015 - 04:47 AM

Clean the  carb, you probably have a dirty jet.

• grayracer513

Posted March 02, 2015 - 07:40 AM