Right oil for my yz450f

35 replies to this topic
  • Rizzky

Posted February 01, 2015 - 12:19 AM

I am a newbie and I know this is a bit of a touchy subject because people do ask "what is the best oil to run" to which the answer would be different from every person as it is based on personal preference, but i wont be asking what is the best brand as i have already narrowed that down for myself to either Motul or Amsoil. 

However i would like to know what is the best oil to run in my 2012 YZ450 for my conditions (not brand) here in Sydney Australia. The weather is anywhere from 70-95 deg F for the next 3-4 months and it doesn't generally get any colder than 50 deg F even in the winter. So based on some of my reading i am thinking that a 10W-40 would be best for me but i would love some advice if this is correct.

Now i dont know if this makes any difference but i am also running a hydrolic clutch. 

Something i am also unsure of is if i should run a fully synthetic, semi synthetic, or non-synthetic oil. 

Thank you

• x_JT_x

Posted February 01, 2015 - 12:41 AM

You can never fail in a yamaha bike if you run yamalube 10-40 or 20-50. 10-40 for that bike.

Everyone will have their own opinions, the oil that was designed for that motor will work well, and is what I choose to use. A second option is Rotella T-6, it's a full synthetic that can be had very cheaply. It's not the longest lasting but at the price you can change it often which is good since it will keep your motor clean. I myself run either yamalube or just some semi synthetic, I don't use full synth. I'm sure it lubes great but the stuff looks like water it's so thin cold..

• grayracer513

Posted February 01, 2015 - 07:47 AM

Either Amsoil MCV (20w-50) or MCF (10w-40) or the Motul is a good choice.  10w-40 is good up to 110℉, or down to about 20℉, so it really pretty much covers it, but I prefer 20w-50 when the temps stay up around 95℉ most of the time.