yzf springs in a wr

10 replies to this topic
  • wr_steve

Posted February 08, 2004 - 05:26 PM

Hey I'm a first time writer and memeber of thumper talk and I was wondering if it was possible to put yzf fork and rear springs in a wr. I have a 99 wr with really soft springs and was just curious if the yz and the wr are the same springs but with different spring rates.

• Hick

Posted February 08, 2004 - 05:32 PM

I'm pretty sure the springs are the same, WR to YZ.

Anybody else?

• John_H

Posted February 09, 2004 - 09:02 AM

Look at the specs in the owner's manual. YZ spring is a little stiffer. I changed mine out a while ago because it was a liitle soft. Bought it from a TT member with a YZ who had replaced his with a race tech spring. :)

• PumpkinHumper

Posted February 09, 2004 - 10:26 AM

Hey Steve. Since none of these other guys bothered saying it...... WELCOME TO THUMPER TALK :) :D

• Indy_WR450

Posted February 09, 2004 - 10:38 AM

Good Idea Don! Welcome Steve. :D You will find that the difference in springs is minimal but the difference in valving is substantial. If you need new springs try Racetech or MXtech and get the springs for your weight and riding style. It made a big difference for me on the WR450. :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Hick

Posted February 09, 2004 - 12:25 PM

Look at the specs in the owner's manual.

Both 400s have the same PN for fork springs w/ same rate printed on the fiche.

:)

• tcmII

Posted February 09, 2004 - 05:59 PM

I have been doing the research for myself and have found that the owners manual, parts catalog and Race Tech website all seem to suggest that the shock and forks are the same WR to YZF. The difference is in the spring rates.

I put in a link to Race Tech, you can check it out for yourself and check the recommend spring rate for your riding style.

Good luck,

Race Tech

• Hick

Posted February 09, 2004 - 06:23 PM