2007 crf250r 3 months to season prep!

Hey folks,

I picked up a low'ish hour 2007 250r that is am gonna race in this years HS season on Vancouver island. First race is 22nd of March, so the clock is ticking to get the bike ready and to get some practice hours on her.

About my self. I'm 34 years old, I'm a marine technologist with a highly technical background. I started riding dirt bikes about 18 months ago, I'm not sure but I thinknim a C rider lol. I'm fit and have been dry land training 5 days a week, riding on weekends. I'm not a total newb on the bike, I ride a klx250 daily and have owned a cr125, 250, kdx220, klx400. I'm also very mechanically inclined and will be doing 95 percent of the wrenching, I will send the forks out to be re-shimmed, unless I get brave. So the bike...

The bike is in good shape, no loose bearings, engine runs good but could use a carb clean. Clutch needs replacing but the basket and inner hub are good. I'll try to post pics as the prep work goes on for anyone's intetest and a way for me to catalogue any work. So the list of must do's and want to do's...

Must do

-protection(handguards, slid plate)

-grease all bearing on chassis(swing arm, steering, etc)

-clutch kit

-couple new air filter(filter is good but I will be anal about this)

-5 gallons of engine/tranny oil(what's a good oil?)

-case of filters

-top end week before season with some run in time

-check valves analy(they are currently in spec)

Wants

-rekluse auto clutch or Hinson race clutch, still on the fence, I might just get the exp with the clutch kit them decide if I want the zstart or pro.

-big bore, maybe after this season

Anyways, any tips, hints or suggestions are welcome. I'm new, but not too newbish

Bike

554414A4-6C1F-4F2F-90E7-BEEAD2B2E1C7.jpg

Matt

• Like 1

Suspension before anything else. Send those forks out to get revavled and sprung for your weight