Regina chains

7 replies to this topic
  • sirthumpalot

Posted February 01, 2002 - 06:28 PM

Has anyone tried a regina chain? If this sidewinder thing doesn't pan out I want to get the best non-oring chain I can find and I've heard very mixed reviews about Regina. A few said they're great, many (a shocking majority) in the news groups tell me they break easily and often. Anyone ever try one?

• txthumper

Posted February 02, 2002 - 04:21 AM

i run a regina o-ring on my 426, never needs adjusting...i tried the non o-ring on my sons bike, it didnt hold up to good...now i use RK chains on his bike with good luck

• Hick

Posted February 02, 2002 - 10:52 PM

I’ve been using them for a few years now with no problems. I can’t remember the model number but I always get the most expensive o-ring they make. I believe this actually turns out to be the cheaper route in the long run since it seems to me that a worn out chain is the quickest way to end up with hooked sprockets (which conversely result in worn out chains w/ damaged pins). So I like to replace the chain and sprockets as a set, if at all possible, and I bet I have at least forty hours on my last set (Renthal sprockets and Regina gold o-ring) and it looks to be about 70% by my standards. The links articulate smoothly, it doesn’t have a lot of side to side play, you can’t pull it off the back of the rear sprocket, and the sprocket teeth are not appreciably hooked or thin.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that nothing can break a chain quicker than a really hooked sprocket. Makes sense if you’ve seen how thin the teeth can get, placing a lot of stress on a small area of the pins and rollers. After that happened to me (with a new chain) I started replacing that stuff a little sooner. Point being if a chain breaks it may not be the chains fault, it could be the sprockets and of course improper (read: too tight) adjustment.