Hey all. I'm a pretty big trail noob. Looking at a xr250 for a trail bike. Have ridden one in the past, and quite enjoyed it. Went well for my height and weight, and wasn't on any really fast trails so it did the job nicely. Mostly though, the thing that is drawing me back to it is how tough they are. Anybody got any opinions on a better bike in regards to how much abuse they can take? Really not keen on doing rebuilds every 25 hours as Honda recommend for the CRF250 and other new bikes may require, which is why I'm drawn to the xr. All of my offroad experience is on a KLX250 '07 or a XR250 '99. Preferred the XR, felt it was more nimble and fit my riding style better. Wasn't a particular fan of the klx posture, and don't feel that I'm after that bit of extra power for all the extra maintenance that some off road bikes require. What's a decent middle ground? What are my options?

You certainly don't have to rebuild them every 25 hours unless you're doing some serious racing.  XR's are very tough and reliable, cheap and easy to maintain. Keep the oil changed, watch for stuff coming loose, replace what you break, and ride the snot out of it.  You won't hurt it. They can go many, many hours  without even pulling the head. Adjusting the valves is simple and can be done in less than 30 minute. I had 2 of them back in the 80's and can vouch for their reliability.

• Like 3

You certainly don't have to rebuild them every 25 hours unless you're doing some serious racing.  XR's are very tough and reliable, cheap and easy to maintain. Keep the oil changed, watch for stuff coming loose, replace what you break, and ride the snot out of it.  You won't hurt it. They can go many, many hours  without even pulling the head. Adjusting the valves is simple and can be done in less than 30 minute. I had 2 of them back in the 80's and can vouch for their reliability.