Smaller pilot jet?

4 replies to this topic
  • rhinoracin

Posted December 01, 2014 - 01:03 PM

I decided to swap the stock 45 pilot jet in my 2009 YZ to a #42, because I saw it recommended somewhere and my bike would always start easier when using hot start (even with the engine cold). So now, after re-adjusting the fuel screw, starting the bike is how it should be (using choke and hot start only when necessary). But for the first time ever, there is sometimes a slight bog or hesitation (1/8-1/2 throttle openings) when riding.

I'm not really a jetting expert, but I don't think it has anything to do with the leak jet (bike has a R&D power pump AP cover set to #60 leak jet). I feel like the bike is running lean now (mid-throttle openings), and I should raise the needle a clip or 2, and probably turn the fuel screw out more. I just want to make sure that this really is what I should do before I do it...and how many clips should I raise the needle?

My current jetting is 42 pilot, 165 main, NFPP needle 4th clip. Full DRD exhaust, riding in SoCal deserts.

• grayracer513

Posted December 01, 2014 - 05:02 PM

#60 is bigger than the original LJ (#55) by a considerable amount.  That makes the pump discharge weaker, not stronger (leaner, not richer).  The first thing I would try is returning it to #55 and go from there.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • rhinoracin

Posted December 15, 2014 - 12:14 PM