Need some advice

11 replies to this topic
  • Peach82

Posted November 26, 2014 - 02:42 AM

So I am new to this forum thing. But I am a college student and live about 15-20 miles from my college and I am looking at getting a 2007 Yamaha wr450f to use to go back and forth from school. The guy wants $3,000 for it. It's in really great condition. Should I try and buy it? And does anyone have any info/advice on this bike?

• Krannie McKranface

Posted November 26, 2014 - 06:38 AM

That price could be a steal, or a rip-off, depending on the condition of the bike.

That price is typical for a stock, clean, Allow framed WR450 (in SoCal).

Condition is everything, so use your powers of deductive reasoning to scrutinize the bikes condition.

The WR is not what we would call a 'good' commuter bike......unless you will also hit dirt as often as your schedule permits...then it's not important how good it is on the street.

• bobpara

Posted November 26, 2014 - 09:46 AM

I can think of 1,000 better commuter bikes unless you plan on doing alot of dirt riding too

The way the WR comes from the factory, its not set up to be road legal in alot of the more stricter states.

Some states req blinkers & horn & a stop light front and rear.....the WR has none of this

It CAN be converted, but you need a dual sport kit from Baja Designs or equivalent

What about a Suzuki DR 350S ? More road worthy and still reasonably capable off road

• Peach82

Posted November 26, 2014 - 10:08 AM

I would be doing a lot of dirt riding cuz all the land near me is fields. And it's hard to find a suzuki near me

• hingedthinker

Posted November 27, 2014 - 07:34 AM

Then you could go with a WR. Plan on a $500-600 Cush drive rear wheel too... And lots of money for maintenance.

You would be better off with a more street oriented bike. Then save more money for a ~$1500 used YZ.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted November 27, 2014 - 10:43 AM

You don't need a cush hub on a WR
It will be fine