Should I go full synthetic?

20 replies to this topic
  • flapwick

Posted November 23, 2014 - 08:47 PM

I have a 2007 YZ450f that started making alot of noise recently.Turns out the crank bearing was starting to go and the small metal filings gouged the cylinder badly enough to need replacing,too.So,I am replacing the cylinder,crank assembly ,and all relevant seals and bearings as well(all OEM).I am a Vet Novice level 53 year old,who is not real hard on my bike,and I am very good about doing all the proper maintenance on it.My question is, will it be better for my bike to go full synthetic in the engine?Is there any downside to it other than cost? I have always used Yamalube four stroke all purpose performance 10w-40.I am the second owner of the bike,and have had it for almost 3 years.I know the previous owner,and he rode it very little,but his son is a good Intermediate level racer,and would race this bike when his Honda's were down.Maybe a dozen times in the bikes first 5 years.So,any thoughts? Thanks alot!!015.JPG

• grayracer513

Posted November 24, 2014 - 07:06 AM

The best oils I know of are full synthetic, but so are several that I would never use.  The question of whether it is or isn't full synthetic isn't what matters as much as how well it can protect the engine, and whether the gearbox will beat it into water in under two hours. 

Use a good reputable oil made for the purpose, and change it often.  No downside but the cost.

• flapwick

Posted November 25, 2014 - 07:45 AM

Thanks,Gray.I have some Maxima Extra4 on hand,and I will check into Yamalube making a full synthetic.If they do,I would be inclined to go with Yamalube.

• Swappa

Posted November 25, 2014 - 11:07 AM