Yz450f maintenance

9 replies to this topic
  • akhomegrown

Posted October 28, 2014 - 07:54 PM

Newbie here. In Colorado and just bought a 2013 yz450f and have taken it out to the track twice. What are some thing that I need to do to make sure it lasts. Bought a 2nd air filter and will change that out every ride. Plan to change oil every two rides or so. Is there any suggestions for additional maintenance I should be aware of?

• KcDavis

Posted October 28, 2014 - 11:22 PM

A bike that new didn't come with a manual?  If not, I would start off by getting one.  It will tell you everything you need to know about your bike.

• temporarily_locked

Posted October 28, 2014 - 11:31 PM

keep chain adjusted, oil filter every/every other oil change, valve clearance check every 4/5 oil changes. Check spokes occasionally.

Edited by Die_trying, October 28, 2014 - 11:32 PM.

• handreasen

Posted October 29, 2014 - 01:32 AM

two more times too the track, wash and sell it . Worn out, buy new one!

• akhomegrown

Posted October 29, 2014 - 08:57 PM

Adjusted chain already. Chain wax. Valve clearance check? Downloaded a manual on internet. This thing rips

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • suzuki son of a bitch

Posted October 29, 2014 - 09:26 PM

Bearing re-grease

• Nautical Miles

Posted November 01, 2014 - 08:27 PM

Congrats on your new bike. Hope you enjoy it! 

Seems like you are on the right track for maintenance and all above suggestions are great.

Look here:http://www.thumperta...ssues-and-faqs/

It covers pretty much all FAQS and then some... to include common problems, fuel injection settings, mods.... as the thread name states. You can always find this thread stickied to the top of the YZ450F TT thread line.

If you look deeply in there (towards the bottom) you will find this:http://www.yamahaown...ook.com.au/?r=0