2006-09 YZ450 vs newer models

9 replies to this topic
  • JonDirt

Posted October 19, 2014 - 05:57 PM

About three years ago, I had a 2006 YZ450 that I bought used and rode offroad. I loved it, just decided to move on. The exact same bike I sold popped up for sale recently and a buddy of mine said he'd like to have it, so I picked it up for him (he lives 150 miles away).

Rode it today and remembered how much fun that bike is! I'm thinking if it had FI it would be the perfect bike for me. I currently have a 500 EXC which I also love, but I just can't seem to get it setup to where I can corner as well as on a Japanese bike.

My question is, how does that model compare to newer models? Specifically offroad. I've heard the 2010 was kind of weird. I've read that the 2014 is a nice bike. There's a dealer near me selling new models from 2013-2015 with varying prices, obviously.

Would a 2013 feel like an updated version of my old girl? 2014+ a good bike? I've been riding for 20 years, slow expert class (if it matters).

• atropine

Posted October 19, 2014 - 06:22 PM