Spring rate help?

2 replies to this topic
  • Hart0506

Posted October 06, 2014 - 09:33 AM

Hey all,
So I just bought a 2008 yz450f... It's my first dirtbike and in quite new to the whole thing.. It al seems pretty straight forward with regards to maintenance and up keep. My only issue is the stock springs, I weight 230 without gear, and around 250 dressed.. I used two different calculators that gave me two differnt rates... One was 6.2 rear and .52 front.. Other was 6.4 and .54... I'm leaning towards the 6.4 and .54 because although I'm a beginner I do enjoy riding fast. Can anyone shed some light on spring rates for me.. I don't trust the calculators and everyone tells me different things on the topic. I just need a reliable source to tel me if I'm close or not

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • f150jokerstyle

Posted October 07, 2014 - 06:18 PM

Hey all,
So I just bought a 2008 yz450f... It's my first dirtbike and in quite new to the whole thing.. It al seems pretty straight forward with regards to maintenance and up keep. My only issue is the stock springs, I weight 230 without gear, and around 250 dressed.. I used two different calculators that gave me two differnt rates... One was 6.2 rear and .52 front.. Other was 6.4 and .54... I'm leaning towards the 6.4 and .54 because although I'm a beginner I do enjoy riding fast. Can anyone shed some light on spring rates for me.. I don't trust the calculators and everyone tells me different things on the topic. I just need a reliable source to tel me if I'm close or not

I paid to have my stuff sprung and valved and I don't know what they put in the front but I can tell you I have a 6.2 in the rear. I'm 225-230 street clothes 6'2, intermediate desert guy and I go faster than I should on a regular basis lol. I'm very happy with my setup. So I would lean towards the 6.2 and .52 possibly. 

• Hart0506

Posted October 08, 2014 - 07:10 AM