KTM versus Yamaha - Keep it clean

4 replies to this topic
  • Mitch_from_Oz

Posted May 03, 2001 - 03:28 PM

Gentlemen,

I am not an expert or a professional rider so I approach this from personal experience and 20+ years of riding road and dirt. So, REMEMBER, all comments should be above the belt, not rude or derogatory to anyone. THis is my opinion, if you dont like that is fine. Afterall, it is all subjective.

KTM520
Larger displacement, but not much more power for the displacment. Love the magic button and the suspension. Even love the color.. :) But, when it comes to moto-cross tracks and the like. No comparison to the Yamaha. I have ridden my 400 back to back with a KTM520 with pipe and found the following results.
Yamaha turned better, Accelerated better, held it's line better. The KTM handled the bumps better but suffered head shake at speed through the rutts and the whoops.

Yamaha
A little heavy, but what a motor! Not the best bike for the woods or trails (KTM in my opinion is better in this area), but as a MX/SX/Desert bike, nothing is better. This is a bike that needs to be ridden hard. If you dont ride it hard, it will hurt you and you will not touch it's true potential. Realistically, the YZF250 will be better for alot of people as you can ride it hard....

The 2002 Yamaha will be an all aluminium frame (according to sources) and will be a 450. The weight saving on an aluminium frame relative to the existing will be in excess of 10lbs. It wont have ther magic button, but it will have over 5 years of reliability and engine development.

Regards
Mitch

• WR_Rider

Posted May 03, 2001 - 05:14 PM

Hey Mitch,
I've got 'em both. A '99 WR400 and the '01 520MXC. Love them both. Here is my input....