Advice on suspension

6 replies to this topic
  • Kirtwell

Posted January 25, 2002 - 06:45 AM

Hey guys,
I'm a 37 y/old ride mostly MX on an 01' YZ426.
I'm 6', 225 lbs. I'm a mid pack novice level rider.
In the last 6 months I've really stepped up my riding..hope it lasts.........anyway, I'm bottoming my front and rear suspension more and more lately. Normal maintenance, I changed out the front fork oil, and per a dealer mechanic's advice, I added 5mm more oil in each fork. It really made a difference.
This last weekend I seat jumped a stepup and I kept feeling the rear suspension hit hard bottom on the face. I've never felt it do that before, also, I felt the front forks bottom on an aggressive face. I don't like the way my bike flys after I bottom out like that.
I've played with the settings on the forks and the rear springs..but guys I swear I can't feel any difference. What gives here?
I hear it all the time that bottoming is normal...but I want to hear from some larger 200+ lb. riders that suffered with this and have successfully sent their suspensions out and got good results.

• h_bomb

Posted January 25, 2002 - 02:40 PM

I think you need stiffer springs,they will hold your bike up better and more control,or get your valving stiffend up it sounds like your blowing through the stroke to fast.GOOD LUCK :)

• BFLee

Posted January 25, 2002 - 08:29 PM

Go to www.RaceTech.com and check out the Product and Valving selector. I found it very usefull and bought the springs they recommended for my bike.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • RichB

Posted January 26, 2002 - 05:19 AM