YZ400F Cam Chain Sproket Question

9 replies to this topic
  • WrightStuff

Posted August 22, 2014 - 03:15 PM

Went to change the timing chain and sprocket looks like this. Looks pretty worn to me. Am I at panic stage needing crank replacement or if I change out the chain regularly can I milk this along for a while?

0DC0B225-B1C9-4E28-B8FC-5C778F6415E8.jpg

• WrightStuff

Posted August 23, 2014 - 02:10 PM

Anyone? :huh:

• sosycz

Posted August 24, 2014 - 02:43 AM

Hi ;)

I'm going to replace my cam chain too. Just got the magneto puller arrived. Gonna pull it off tomorrow. From what I was able to see through the cam chain canal in head/cylinder, my sprocket's teeth looked a little better than yours. It had grooves that fit the cam chain shape, but the teeth on sprocket are not cut on the edges (they are not rounded like yours).do. IMHO you're fine for a A WHILE, but you need to pay a lot of attention to it since its life is almost done. I'm not a mechanic but i think u could get some 20-30 more on it (with a risk of chain slippage if it will get worn more).

I'll post pictuers of mine sprocket tomorrow.

BTW I own 2004 yz450f that has lot of hours on it. Gonna start my own thread since I got couple of questions too.

• WrightStuff

Posted August 25, 2014 - 08:11 AM

Thanks for the input!

That is what I am looking for here in the post is just some thoughts. I know it's hard to tell but was thinking if there were some 400F experts out there that could share their experiences and point me in the right direction that would be great.

• sosycz

Posted August 25, 2014 - 10:16 AM

the quality is pretty low, but i promised to put it here :D

the teeth are really (you can cut yourself on it) sharp and the side edges are little bit cut,  just like yours are. i think it's living time is gonna end soon. all i'm gonna do is inspecting it every 20-30 hours. idk if it's necessery, but untill someone tells me it's not, im gonna do this, since i don't know !@#$ about it :).