Need input on buying a four stroke!!

13 replies to this topic
  • newto2wheels

Posted January 22, 2002 - 09:57 PM

I'm new to the 2 wheel market. I'm looking at getting a four stroke bike. I want a bike that isn't too much for me, but I don't want something that I will quickly grow out of as my skills improve. I went to the dealers and looked at the DRZ400, CRF450R, WR/YZF 400/426 and the YZF250F. I also looked at the KDX220, but have pretty much eliminated it already. Since I'm new to this I wanted to get peoples opinions on the handling and maintenence records of some of these. I'm already leaning toward the 400/426 but not sure about the WR or YZF. I would like to gain the skills enough to get on a motocross track as I am a former quad motocrosser. Raced for 5 years. I owned a 98 kX250, but could never get comfortable riding it. It intimidated me so much, it sat in the garage for an entire year. I'm 6'2", 200lbs. in good shape (not the same as riding shape. Any input, good and bad, will be be helpful and appreciated.

• dan_Rekito

Posted January 23, 2002 - 01:37 AM

426 power is similar to the kx250 my buddy has a 1998kx250. The Wr 426 has a tamer powerband and can easily be modified later on if you want more power . Retime the cams and remove air box snorkle, also disconnect gray wire . all free modifications that make a huge difference. These new four strokes are so much easier to ride than a two stroke 250 or 500. Dont get me wrong the power is there !! Yz426F has 58 horsepower stock I think the Kx 250 has 42 horse.

• Odie

Posted January 23, 2002 - 03:51 AM

The YZ426 puts out about 48hp at the rear wheel. I think your KX puts out 45hp. Your 98 KX250 hits hard - I remember that bike having a violent hit - at least the one I rode. Well, the 426 also hits hard. Not quite as hard as the KX. It's much more manageable due to it's 4-stoke nature but she's still a very potent ride. If you were intimidated by your KX, then the 426 will do the same.

Later,
Odie