WR450F Funride

1 reply to this topic
  • drdanbozeman

Posted August 03, 2014 - 12:25 PM

If you like details read on, if not move on.

I've been riding my 2012 WR450 for two years now and I have always considered it a fun bike to ride. I've come to feel that if the net outcome of a ride is not on the side of fun, then &%$#@! (another variation of &%$#@!, figure it out) am I doing it? I got some of the ideas for the WR Funride at http://bestdualsport...00-exc-funride/

My initial changes to the WR are common to many riders who like the bike to work better for their riding style, and some comments about those changes where appropriate:

1. Competition ECU using FMF map. In June I rented “the” diagnostic tool (available on TT) and set my CO level at 8. Initially I did not think it helped with hard starting, however, after 6 weeks I'm starting to think it did help, as first hit cold starts are now common, hot starts are OK but not great.

2. Remove throttle stop screw and replace with short screw

3. FMF stainless steel megabomb header

4. FMF Q4 hex muffler – the sound level is low enough that I can civilly ride out of the neighborhood to rides that are nearby

5. Rekluse z-Start Pro auto-clutch – I had braking stall issues until my last clutch adjustment. Increasing the idle speed helped decrease stalling, but I would still experience stalls at very inconvenient times; the bike would also creep forward a bit at idle after it warmed up. The solution was to add stronger springs; by installing both 1.5" Wave Spring-C150-L4 and 2" Wave Spring-C200L5, the clutch now engages at slightly higher revs and brake stalling is totally eliminated. I retained the clutch lever so I can override the auto-clutch if I want to.

6. Rekluse LHRB – really useful for braking during right hand turns and for some downhill oddities

7. IMS 3 gallon fuel tank – some rides in Montana get a bit long, not much different than many western states