Help with headlight?

7 replies to this topic
  • Mtrain730

Posted July 26, 2014 - 04:21 PM

Hey guys still struggling with trying to get a head light too work on my 2012 its suppose to have plenty of power to run a reasonable headlight I bought a polisport hmx real low wattage and when I try to turn it on it the light starts to light up and the bike dies. Any ideas I have tested the light off a car battery and it seems to work fine. I used a baja desighns harness to wire the light. It's almost like the problem is with the bike itself but I have never had any issues with it running. Any ideas. I don't really know where to go from here and if I had to take it some place I would probably just give up on the head light idea. Lol. Thanks in advance.

• grayracer513

Posted July 26, 2014 - 04:36 PM

What kind of light is it?  LED, HID? What?

• Mtrain730

Posted July 26, 2014 - 04:43 PM

What kind of light is it? LED, HID? What?

led its only suppose to draw like 3w. I admit I'm a newbie with this stuff but the bike is suppose be able to handle a much higher wattage light than that but it just flickers and almost immediately kills the bike even if I rev it up. I even stripped the harness right down to where it comes off the bike to eliminate the switch and it does the same thing.

• Mtrain730

Posted July 26, 2014 - 04:46 PM

Could my bike not be producing as much electricity as its suppose to but still enough to run. Maybe that's a stupid question I don't know?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • drtrcr400

Posted July 26, 2014 - 06:11 PM