First bike suggestions

Yamaha WR450F Yamaha WR250X

22 replies to this topic
  • Bullock93

Posted July 16, 2014 - 07:56 AM

Hey all!, I am new to TT and need some help! I am looking to buy a WR250 or a WR450. I am 21, 5'6 maybe 5,7 and 230lbs i will be doing some highway riding 100km/h but mostly city and back roads riding and some trails. If i was lighter i would go with the 250 but since i weight a little more i am leaning towards the wr450. Any help will be great!

Edited by Bullock93, July 16, 2014 - 08:00 AM.

• AddictedToBling

Posted July 16, 2014 - 08:01 AM

Just for the fact you Intend to use it on open roads I'd go the 450. It won't be revving as hard at 100ks

Edited by AddictedToBling, July 16, 2014 - 08:02 AM.

• MANIAC998

Posted July 18, 2014 - 01:40 AM

WR450

• GP1K

Posted July 18, 2014 - 07:57 AM

A 450 is too much power and too much bike for a first time rider. Plus the WR450 is not a true dual sport, it's a plated dirt bike. Not good for something commuted on, highway miles, etc. Get a WR250R it's a great bike and will do everything you want.

• AddictedToBling

Posted July 18, 2014 - 08:39 AM

A 450 is too much power and too much bike for a first time rider. Plus the WR450 is not a true dual sport, it's a plated dirt bike. Not good for something commuted on, highway miles, etc. Get a WR250R it's a great bike and will do everything you want.

So. You're saying a 450 would be no good on the highway but a WR 250 would be good :lol: . Ooooo kay  :rolleyes:

• GP1K

Posted July 18, 2014 - 09:06 AM

So. You're saying a 450 would be no good on the highway but a WR 250 would be good :lol: . Ooooo kay  :rolleyes:

No, I'm saying a bike that wheelies with just a whiff of throttle in the lower gears is not a good choice for a beginner rider, because it isn't. Derp.