PMAUST

10 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted May 02, 2001 - 04:11 AM

Hey,
What about my riding in sand tips? I thought you were gonna give me some expert tricks of the sandrider. :)

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted May 02, 2001 - 05:11 AM

Mike, Im not an expert sand rider but I can give you my .02 on riding in the sand.
I think that the most important thing to do is to keep the bike moving to stay on top of the sand, a paddle tire isnt a must, but its nice. When you drop into a bowl be VERY careful the sand could be really loose and deep which will cause you to go over the bars. I have always regarded sand as the worst enemy for motorcycles, the sand gets everywhere. I would run a Filterskin over your filter to block any excess sand from getting in your scoot. And when your done make sure to tear down your bike and clean it like you've never cleaned it before. I've had some of the best times riding in the sand but I personaly would never ride my new bike in the sand, I would much rather have a beater KX500 with a paddle tire for those trips...

Dan

• PMAUST

Posted May 02, 2001 - 07:17 PM

Mike, sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. But starting a thread like this is better anyway. Do you mean desert riding or sand dunes. I have quite a bit of experience in the desert but none riding sand dunes such as Glamis or other place where a paddle is used. One of my sons does that and he really likes it. But that is not my cup of tea except to watch those darn fools. :)

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted May 03, 2001 - 01:17 AM

Sand is sand, isn't it? Ya know, the really soft stuff, light in color? Makes ya all squirley?

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted May 03, 2001 - 05:11 AM