suspension settings on 14 450

3 replies to this topic
  • mxracer591

Posted June 18, 2014 - 02:59 PM

Hey all, fairly new to this forum. I just bought a 2014 yz450f. It's great, I love it. Way more then enough power, seems to handle well... All of the above. I'm curious if any one would have some starter settings for the suspension? I'm a beginner/novice. I've ridden a fair amount over the years, but never really got serious enough to consider myself anything more then a novice... Haha. I'm 6'1 and weigh about 190 with gear on. I set the sag so it is about 100-105 mm difference between on the stand and me sitting on it. Any other thoughts? Clicker settings? Anything special I should know about? Thanks!

• ttr230rider6

Posted June 20, 2014 - 06:46 AM

My clicker settings won't be any good for you as I am only 150 pounds so I won't even bother posting them haha. But one thing I found helped a lot was raising the forks in the triple clamps 5 mm (to the first line on them)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • YamaLink

Posted June 20, 2014 - 10:56 AM

This isn't an apples-to-apples scenario for you compared to the advanced riders at MXA, but it is an example. Scroll down quite a ways to see how they set their 2014 450 suspension up. Whatever you end up doing, work one end at a time, one clicker at a time, then go to the other end of the bike and repeat.

Make notes so you have a baseline to fall back on.

http://motocrossacti...ghtening-it-out

• Joe_Jet

Posted June 20, 2014 - 11:26 AM

165lb vet nov

Stock forks

Rear shock: replaced spring with 5.7. Messing with clickers now. Close to non us clicker settings now but probably 1 click in on rebound. Sag 105mm

Related Content

Forums
Photo
Motocross

Thinking about Yamaha 250... by Arctic Pride

Dirt Bike   Special Interest Forums   Pro Racing
  • Hot  491 replies
Forums
Photo