Overheating 2012 WR450, need help

Chemical Coolant Engine Radiators & Components

65 replies to this topic
  • Rusty99

Posted June 16, 2014 - 10:31 PM

Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to dirt bikes and since owning my 2012 WR 450 I've had overheating issues. Coolant boiling over and steam/fluid pouring out the discharge tubes.

I removed the pea shooter, changed rad fluid to Coolanl. This didn't help at all. 90% of my riding is slow technical mountain trails in the Alberta Rockies.

1. I have a GYTR Competion ECU on order, will changing the mapping help it run cooler?

2. Is putting a FMF Q4 muffler going to help run cooler?

3. Adding fans is becoming a pain in my butt: Would appreciate some pics & details on someone whose done fan setup.

4. What is the best and most economical temperature sensor or computer a guy can install?

I need the biggest bang for my buck cooling upgrade, hopefully it also fairly simple for a newbie to do.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

Russ

Edited by Rusty99, June 16, 2014 - 10:32 PM.

• guru

Posted June 17, 2014 - 04:54 AM

The company ecu will make a huge difference. I don't know if the fan is needed but you might consider header wrap.

• torkd14

Posted June 17, 2014 - 06:42 AM

Before you spend a bunch of money wait until you get the comp ECU installed and go for a good ride. My 2012 is bone stock except all the uncorking and I've never had it over heat. I race the Alberta cross country series on it and its had some rough rides but never even steamed. Maybe your running your clutch a little to hard, that will cause some serious heat.

• GP1K

Posted June 17, 2014 - 07:53 AM

Yeah definitely wait til you get the comp ECU and remap it, makes a big difference. I ride woods and tight PNW single track, and only had one incident where I've boiled mine, and that was super tight/technical very slow going, clutch slipping and never getting up to any kind of speed to cool it off type of thing.

• Navaho6

Posted June 17, 2014 - 08:53 AM