Extending the rear brake. 13' yz450f

8 replies to this topic
  • Piznapple

Posted June 15, 2014 - 05:01 PM

Hey guys recently I've just gotten into riding. Now my over all goal is to be descent on a mx. But I keep running into the problem of hitting my rear brake after airing things out. So it leads me to believe that I need to extend my rear brake from my foot peg. Or is it that I don't rev the motor before landing to keep the wheel spinning? I'm a noob when it comes to riding on the mx track. Could use any and all tips to help me change things up on the track to be the big guy flying past people on the track.

• Mike in OK

Posted June 15, 2014 - 05:06 PM

Braking in the air brings your nose down, revving in the air brings it up. That's the only way to change the attitude of your bike while you're in flight.

• grayracer513

Posted June 15, 2014 - 06:08 PM

If you keep hitting the break accidentally, either: learn to rotate your toe out away from the pedal so you can roll your foot on the peg without hitting it, same as you do for the shifter, or, adjust the pedal drop with the link between the pedal and master cylinder.

Or both.  Always be careful in the first few minutes after an adjustment like that, too.

• Piznapple

Posted June 15, 2014 - 06:14 PM

Ya mike, everything I'm landing I'm wanting to go over the handlebars. So I think I'm on the brake in the air pitching me forward the the bike giving me that feeling of wanting to go over. But I think I'll do what GREYRACER said, and adjust the lever and angle my feet out more.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • gscx

Posted June 15, 2014 - 06:41 PM