2014 yz450 mod?

24 replies to this topic
  • MESSMAKER

Posted April 08, 2014 - 10:54 AM

I am wanting some input from people that have installed the radiator lowering mod and if anybody has done the gytr flywheel weight. Any help is really appreciated as I would like first hand use and if they are worth the coin.

• MESSMAKER

Posted April 11, 2014 - 01:59 PM

Come on guys someone has to of done these upgrades.

• Hoosier-Daddy

Posted April 11, 2014 - 03:07 PM

I'll bite. I have no experience with the newer fuel injected models, but the heavy flywheel made amazing positive improvements to my 09. Another thread posting now has guys talking about injectioneering making an even better improvement to their throttle body on their fuel injected bikes.

• Greg Pennsiltucky Lykens

Posted April 11, 2014 - 05:30 PM

I have the lradiator lowering mod.  Been using them since 2009, when you had to buy a DrD pipe to get it to fit.  I don't notice much of a change in handling. It lowers the radiators only an inch.  With water, that is probably only 3 or 4 lbs lowered an inch.  I have one I bought and another fellow gave me his for an older bike that I used for practice.  This year I had to combine the two kits. For 100 bucks, I wouldn't.  Heck the bike is pretty good stock.  I think all the Yamaha bikes from 2010 on up are all bullet proof and proven winners.

I don not like the location of the fill on the 2014.  Seems that mud likes to build up around the fill underneath the front portion of the removalble seat. I'm thinking that dirt is going to be a big issue in the fuel pump. Of course it is muddy this time of year, so that is a concern of mine right now. Mud falls down between the seat and gets everywhere.  Then that little damn around the front portion of the tank fill is so hard to clean with a rag.  Almost need to pressure spray it to fill it with gas.  

Not liking that aspect