2009 YZ450F Locked up

9 replies to this topic
  • Boer08

Posted March 26, 2014 - 03:09 PM

Guys,

I bought a 2009 YZ450F, but the bike has not been used for the last 2 years... I changed the oil, and put in fresh gas before attempting to start it for the first time. I kicked it about 20 times before it started. I noticed some smoke by the engine, but I read that is common when it is really cold outside. The engine shut off after a few seconds. I tried to kick start it again, but the kick starter locked up completely. I also notice that it wont move when it's in gear while pulling the clutch.

I have never worked on a four stroke before, so I decided that this might be a good time to learn. I did get the service manual, and have been doing a lot of reading and watching Youtube videos to get myself more familiar with this engine. I thought it might be sticky clutch plates, and maybe the timining chain that jumped. I started to open the engine, the timing chain looked fine, however the intake cam was facing the exact opposite way that it's supposed to be. I removed the cylinder and the piston and rings seems to be fine, but when I lift the piston up the crank only turns a little bit before it get stuck.

Does this mean I need to replace the crankShaft or can it be something else that is causing the crank to get stuck? Also, what would you guys recommend to replace since I have the engine open?

I will probably open the rest of the engine this coming weekend.

• jakerezno

Posted March 26, 2014 - 05:35 PM

Put it all back together and time it correctly sounds like the chain must have jumped had the same problem with my bike

• Boer08

Posted March 26, 2014 - 05:48 PM

Excuse my ignorance, but since the top end has been removed ,and the timing chain is not restricted by the cams, isn't the crankshaft suppose to turn freely?

• jakerezno

Posted March 26, 2014 - 05:59 PM