need top end re-build tips

8 replies to this topic
  • MikeOK

Posted January 08, 2002 - 03:10 PM

Well I got my piston and rings, my gasket kit, and my manual so I'm ready to go for a re-build on my '00 426. I'm going to start this week or maybe next so I'd appreciate any tips you might have. I've done several 2 strokers but this is my first time on a 4 stroke. Thanks in advance...

• teamtoxic

Posted January 08, 2002 - 05:28 PM

Just take your time and observe how everything came off, so you'll know exactly where everything goes when you're reinstalling it. Be careful not to drop the timing chain down into the case, it's a real pain in the butt to get back out. :) This was my first four stroke also, and I found the job to be easier than I thought it would be. Also, make sure you have proper torque wrenches on hand, they should be used to tighten everything to the specs listed in the manual.

Good Luck

• Hick

Posted January 08, 2002 - 06:00 PM

Ditto on the torque wrenches. You really need two of them, one for small readings like the cam cap bolts and a bigger one for the head bolts, for example.

I use a big zip tie on the cam chain. Since you’ve probably had to swap some valve shims out by this time I’m guessing you really don’t need any help with the valve train.

Check your ring clearances or gaps as per the manual. I installed one that was a tiny bit too tight the first time I did this and could not get the bike started.