In over my head, lol

12 replies to this topic
  • RMBurrr

Posted March 15, 2014 - 11:38 AM

I just scored myself a 2008 yz450f, had a sled sitting around and decided to make a trade. 

I've been riding a 2001 KX250 for the last ten years, and had found myself getting 4 stroke envy. All of my riding buddies have sweet 4 stroke trail bikes, and every time I jump on one I love that low end grunt power. 

I'm kinda old, and just a so-so rider. I ride single track in  the high rockies of CO, and have always struggled with my KX. I wanna go slow through the rocks, but the KX does not do things slowly for shat!. I'm a clutch riding mofo when I get into the rock gardens.

When the opportunity came up to trade for a 2008 YZ450f, I thought to myself... sweet, a 4 stroke, I'll get that bottom end I want and quit having to ride the clutch. I haven't had a chance to take out the new bike, It's still full blown winter up here. I'll head to Utah soon and try things out in the desert.

After reading up on this bike, I see that I'm probably going to continue to envious of my friends and their TRAIL bikes. I'll try to sell this bike over the summer and get a more appropriate bike for trails.

Until then, I'll ride it as best I can. I'm not sure if it will be any more "slow riding" friendly than my old KX250.

I've found some of the simpler mods that can be done to make this bike a little more trail friendly: 13/51 on the sprockets, soften the shocks up all the way, add a FWW, reroute the crank case breather tube, and add a coolant over flow container.

Did I miss any of the easy stuff?

Anybody want to trade their trail bike?

• ekulb14

Posted March 15, 2014 - 12:32 PM

you missed the biggest trail mod a +9 fly wheel. with that and 13/51 you should be loving your trail 450f

• tang426

Posted March 15, 2014 - 12:40 PM

Get a rekluse clutch and you will love that bike.

• RMBurrr

Posted March 15, 2014 - 05:01 PM

That is very reassuring to hear!