WR426 Kicker not retracting :(

10 replies to this topic

Posted February 23, 2014 - 03:55 PM

Hey, everyone.  Long time lurker and first time poster here.  I was riding my WR earlier today out behind the house.  Just wanted to run some of the old gas out of the tank since I havent ridden in awhile.  Got a little carried away and came in too hot back onto the pavement and ended up laying it down, but only going about 5-10mph.  Picked it right back up, pulled the hot start, kicked and it started right up before quickly dying.  So I pushed the hot start back in and went to kick it a few more times.  Not sure if I had the decomp lever pulled or not, but the engine started after about 5 kicks and quickly jerked the kicker back up on its starting stroke before dying right away.  I went to kick again and now the kicker is stuck down and wont cycle properly.  I've moved it manually back up and the bike still has compression, but I am not an expert on this bike and would appreciate any and all input.  Thanks again everyone and hope to peruse this place more often now that I'm a member. 

• jojo1224

Posted February 23, 2014 - 09:34 PM

The kick start return spring most likely broke.

Posted February 23, 2014 - 11:08 PM

The kick start return spring most likely broke.

Is that something that I can fix just by pulling off the right side cover or is it more involved than that?

• yamaha-racer37

Posted February 23, 2014 - 11:51 PM

Is that something that I can fix just by pulling off the right side cover or is it more involved than that?

should be able to change it by pulling the cover.

Posted May 31, 2014 - 04:17 PM