Check My Math....Valve Shims

7 replies to this topic
  • YZPaGuy

Posted February 12, 2014 - 02:22 PM

So my bike has been a bit hard starting and lacking some power. Decided to check the valves last night. The exhaust valves were in spec. The intake valves are way out. It is a 2008 YZ450 with approx 150 hours on it with no motor work at all. I race harescrambles so it is mostly low rev use

Intake Valves Spec- .10 to .15 MM

Clutch side intake valve- greater then .508 MM- That was the largest feeler gauge in my set. It was close to being a tight fit though.

Stock Shim- 1.81 MM

New Shim- 2.2 MM

Center Intake valve- .229 MM

Stock Shim- 1.81 MM

New Shim- 1.95 MM

Cam Side Intake Valve- greater then .508 MM- That was the largest feeler gauge in my set. It was close to being a tight fit though.

Stock Shim- 1.78 MM

New Shim- 2.2 MM

I am new to the inside of a dirt bike motor. My friend helped me out for my first time. He has done this a number of times. We both agreed that putting a post up would be a good idea to check our work. He was kind of worried because the intake valves were so loose. While it is apart we are going to put a new timing chain in it. I have to reuse the valve cover gasket as a new one wasn't in stock at the cycle shop. I figure it should be fine but if it leaks I will get a new one.

Any suggestions, concerns and does the valves being that loose sound normal?

Thanks for the help guys

• NitrousR1

Posted February 13, 2014 - 04:52 AM

With the intake valves being 5 times to suggested clearance they need replaced ASAP. They need replaced before the valve face breaks from the stem and destroys the seat and piston.
Normally you can shim them one time if they are just out of spec. Shim then once, when they are out again replace. Once that coating wears off the Ti valve they wear very quickly.
I'd get 3 new intake valves and replace the exhaust while your in there. Get new valve stem seals and id get new valve springs- only $7 a piece.