Valves - 2007 WR450 First Timer

11 replies to this topic
  • RMK800

Posted February 07, 2014 - 04:37 PM

This is my first time doing valves.   You guys are fantastic on this forum and could use a little help.  I know there is a lot of info on this.  I have looked and read every video or forum on this topic.  Maybe I should know the answer, but if you guys wouldn't mind giving me some input.  Thanks for the help.

I checked my valves today.   As you can see, I believe I'm out on the Exhaust and the Intake. These are some of the question I have.   I have a 32 piece feeler gauge, nothing fancy.

- Exhaust measurements - I could not fit a .18mm.  I could only fit a 15mm and it felt a tad loose.. I'm thinking a 16mm would fit, but I don't have that gauge.  Do I use the 15mm number or 16mm for my measurements for my shims?

- Intake Measurements - I doubled checked. I believe they are accurate at those measurements.

- Do these gauge measurements seem WAY off for a 2007 bike?  This is my first time and maybe my measurements aren't accurate. I double checked I was at TDC.   All I have heard is,  my valves haven't moved in 10 years, etc. :)

- Are the stock shims part # standard. Should I be able to look at a part list to see what sizes there are for each shim?

valves.JPG

• Krannie McKranface

Posted February 07, 2014 - 05:13 PM

You can use two gauges together to achieve the thickness you are looking for....

• RMK800

Posted February 07, 2014 - 05:18 PM

Right, didn't think of that. I'll check them all again to see if I can go up some.

• flyandride

Posted February 07, 2014 - 06:36 PM

All of em are a little tight.  intake should be .10 - .15, exhaust .20 - .25.   Buy a shim kit on ebay, a whole kit is about $70.   it will have sizes thicker than you'll ever need.  I've bought a refill kit with 5 sizes, 3 each for 15 bucks.  Chances are the shims you need are 1.80 and thinner.