A couple of questions....

2 replies to this topic
  • Kahuna

Posted January 09, 2004 - 09:49 AM

Hey, I am looking to buy a 426F and I was wondering if it would be a good bike for me. I am 5'7" 190 lbs. I am not a beginner rider, I have owned two bikes (YZ 80, XR 350), and I have a warrior right now. Anyway It will take me awhile to get used to the 2 wheels again, so this is the major question: Is it a good somwhat begginer bike? Think I could muscle it around? Is it good for mud, trails water, and wide open areas? And also, where is the Gray wire and light blue wire? Thanks

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Hick

Posted January 09, 2004 - 02:55 PM

For friends of mine with this question that are in a similar situation I typically suggest a used two stroke MX bike (the WR is IMO really a doctored-up YZF), but for some reason my advice is usually ignored. Most of my friends that were getting back into bikes after some time away from the sport bought thumpers (although several of those went w/ e-start KTMs). They all got hooked on the power delivery of my YZF/CRF or friends KTMs.

My reasoning for suggesting a two stroke is for the growing pains a lot (but not all) guys have with a high compression, high performance thumper. Maintenance, starting, and stalling (see "starting") are just extra things you need to be thinking about instead of keeping it on two wheels. Also, used 2 stroke MX bikes are plentiful, cheap, and easy to fix.

Having said all that the 426 is, in many ways, easier to ride than a two stroke due to the power delivery. It is super broad, and super smooth, so it requires less shifting and on balance is probably less tiring, although the extra weight mitigates this somewhat (I do realize the XR 350 is a heavy bike), and if you stall/fall you will be tuckered out fairly quickly.