any super motard racers out there?

2 replies to this topic
  • pabsy

Posted December 30, 2001 - 12:57 PM

hi, newish to the board

santa delivered a yz426 for xmas finally

i will mod it to run on slicks up at loudon nh, i also run a gsxr600 pics at ! (i'm the one thats not bald or fat)

anyway heeeeeeellpp please :)
to mod this bike

i will put on 17" excel rims and braking usa oversize front rotors, and lockwire of course, gearing and my trusty chickenhawks

what else do i need to do, which slicks do i run ?, suspension mods , performance. tools etc

jb426 who runs loudon and team scream gave me some great tips
and i'm just checking back to get updates

i'm a total mx newbie so any help would be great

(oh and i did a search)

[ December 30, 2001: Message edited by: pabsy ]

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • fastkevin

Posted December 30, 2001 - 01:09 PM

I would lower it, soften up the compression, and crank on the rebound. I don't know about running slicks, at least on the front(not enough weight up there to get decent heat into the tire). If it's a YZ go with the tallest CS sprocket, and smallest rear you can get on there without doing any damage. The CS sprocket is the same as an Aprilia RS250 (if that helps) I think I've put a 16 on the front and a 47 on the back without having to add links. Keep in mind too, a 17" wheel is really going to lower your gearing. If you have a YZ, I've heard of people installing WR gears -run a search. Good luck

• moto614

Posted December 30, 2001 - 01:51 PM