03 450 wants to start but dosent..

11 replies to this topic
  • -Biggins-

Posted December 08, 2013 - 05:15 PM

Hey guys, I'm new to the racing four stroke world. (Had some XR's in the day) I picked up a 2003 yz450f the other day for the right price. I added some seafoam to the gas, and now it won't start. I took it all apart, checked the valves, (both a little tight, adjusted intake and exhaust to spec, checked for properly seated shims) timed it according to the "I" mark on the flywheel and sticking an Allen wrench in the spark plug hole. Has good spark, good compression, almost perfect timing, cleaned out the carb. Didn't try replacing the gas. Before it would start first kick every time. After I added seafoam, it smoked a little bit when I started it up, but then soon went away about after 2 seconds of running time. So my question is, what am I doing wrong?

• grayracer513

Posted December 09, 2013 - 10:39 AM

Start by replacing the gas, including draining the carb of whatever is in there.  If that doesn't clear up the matter, you may have a blocked or partly blocked main or pilot circuit.

• -Biggins-

Posted December 11, 2013 - 06:57 PM

Got new fuel, it wants to start but dosent. I took the silencer off to pull the subframe back, and I noticed there's unburnt fuel coming out of the header. It has a good vibrant spark. WTF?

• capt justin

Posted December 11, 2013 - 07:06 PM

try a new spark plug

• -Biggins-

Posted December 11, 2013 - 08:22 PM

try a new spark plug

it's LITERALLY brand new. Still won't start. New gas, new plug, valve clearances PERFECT, timed properly at TDC, has great spark, great compression, cleaned carb a week ago, unburnt gas. When I clear it out, (hold kill switch, and throttle wide open, kick it about 20 times) it does want to start. Like it will turn over a couple times, and the kickstarter will make the ratcheting noise.

• capt justin

Posted December 12, 2013 - 05:00 AM

sounds like clogged pilot jet.