Californians - HELP!

3 replies to this topic
  • carpeDRZ

Posted December 27, 2001 - 08:10 PM

I'm really new to dirtbikes, so bear with me. I purchased a DRZ400E in October (my first dirtbike ever) and have had a blast riding it for the past two months. When I bought the bike, I thought (and the dealer told me) that it was a green sticker bike. Guess what I got in the mail from DMV! :)

So now I'm trying to deal with the realization that I won't be allowed to ride my great bike in the summer. My questions are; What do the rest of you red sticker bike owners do during the forbidden season? Are there any off-road riding areas that are open year-round to all bikes? What will happen to me if I'm caught riding off-season? Finally, has anyone ever been cited for a red sticker violation?

I appreciate all the help and insight afforded to me by this forum. Thanks everyone.

• CaSurferHB

Posted December 27, 2001 - 09:58 PM

No stickers required at the tracks!!! You can put a spark arrester on the muffler (or many times just a screen) and get that red sticker changed to green.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BMC1

Posted December 27, 2001 - 11:50 PM

Cal DMV is a mess. They have made it so complicated, there employees don't even know for sure what sticker is for what and when. Although I will probably never use it, I got lucky on my 01 426 and they sent me a green sticker. Most of my buddies weren't as lucky.

• DaveJ

Posted December 28, 2001 - 01:55 PM

Here's what I know to the best of my knowledge.

CARB set a standard for OHV vehicles to meet that were manufactured after Jan 1, 1999. The standard was put in place to help drive down pollutant particles in areas known to have poor air quality during the summer months.